stolen goods

stolen goods

We saw this beauty while walking at Kala Point. BlueHeronDruid blogs about it here, and you should go read her post now. I’ll wait.

I got a new camera a few months back, to replace the one whose zoom lever had gone wonky1, and it’s taking me some time to warm up to it. My muscle memory is all wrong, and there are several UI decisions that are going to annoy me mightily until I learn to work around them. I haven’t yet learned to anticipate and influence the various decisions the new camera brain makes (“Why the hell did you focus there, you moron?!”), so a lot of shots are going to the bit bucket straight from the camera.

Still, every once in a while I get a shot like this. This isn’t a great capture; it’s shot under a heavy sky, at an effective 800mm zoom, hand-held2. The image has been enlarged/cropped about 40%, and some lighting adjustments made. In spite of these indignities it’s a nice photo. And one I don’t think the old camera could have gotten.

That’s the draw of this new camera, 3 versions more improved than the one it replaced: What new things can I see now?

And how much better those images can be when the muscles get retrained.

1A Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ40 replaces an FZ18, for you hardware geeks.
2Shot at f5.2, 1/125th second, focal length 108mm (799mm), ISO 320, for you statistics folk.

November 14, 2010. Kala Point, Pete Townsend, Washington.

Leave a Reply

