from 8500 feet

(OK, so I lied. This one is for BlueHeronDruid.)

If you look closely at the upper middle of the photo, you’ll see a ring of boulders that mark the Mount Shasta Ski Bowl parking lot. If you squint your eyes you can imagine a gray Swedemobile behind the trees at the front of the parking lot. That’s where I started – 7800 foot elevation. Where I took the photo is around 8500 foot, if I’ve read the Google Maps terrain view correctly. Maybe a couple hundred feet higher – so my legs say! The pedometer says I walked 4.5 miles, which I doubt, but it feels like a hell of a lot more…

(Large image here, 3264px by 2448px, 3.4M)

October 8, 2009. Mount Shasta, CA.

Leave a Reply

